Zero Waste – My 5 Reasons to Get Started

Zero waste? What is that? Sounds impossible! Isn’t that just for extreme hippies? Can you even enjoy life like that?!?!!

I had all of those thoughts at some point. However, I’ve been concerned about my eco footprint and what happens to all my waste. But, I felt that trying to be zero waste would make like difficult and unpleasant. However, recently something in my brain flipped! I realized that going zero waste was going to be a fun and creative challenge for me! Additionally, going zero waste is aligned with my goals of eating and living healthy as well as being frugal. I decided to make the commitment.

What is zero waste?

 Zero Waste is a philosophy that encourages the redesign of resource life cycles so that all products are reused. No trash is sent to landfills or incinerators. The process recommended is one similar to the way that resources are reused in nature.

-from Wikipedia

So wait, what does design of products have to do with my life? Many people have adapted what I am calling a “zero waste lifestyle.”

 Zero Waste is a philosophy that encourages the redesign of resource life cycles so that all products are reused. No trash is sent to landfills or incinerators. The process recommended is one similar to the way that resources are reused in nature.

-from Lauren Singer, Trash is for Tossers

I’ve been interested in going zero waste for a few years now. Surprisingly, my husband, who works in waste management which includes a Zero Waste 2020 goal for San Francisco, has been resistant. He works on such a bigger scale, he felt that our effort wouldn’t make a big enough impact. But, I, being a mathematician, know about the Law of Large Numbers. What this means is that if many people make little changes, it can add up to a total big change. The key is getting as many households to reduce their waste as possible. The “zero waste lifestyle” can really add up if many people adopt it!

My top 5 reasons for the Zero Waste Lifestyle:

I don’t want to guilt you into zero waste with these reasons. Guilt didn’t motivate me to be zero waste. It was a personal decision that was motivated by love of creative projects to which I can dedicate myself. Nonetheless, the reasons that this is an important creative project to me are below:

  1. “First Do No Harm” is a motto that can apply to anything in life, but I certainly feel that I do not want to contribute to environmental degradation or at least want to minimize my eco footprint as much as possible.
  2. Making zero waste efforts improves meaning and worth in my life because I know I am “practicing what I preach.”
  3. Zero waste gives me a daily, tangible goal to work for to create positive change in the world.
  4. Zero waste encourages a minimal lifestyle which can lead to improved creativity and enjoyment of experiences, rather than “stuff.”
  5. Zero waste can promote financial savings in the long run. While buying reusable items in the short term can result in some increased front end expenses, many of these items can last years or decades.

straws2

Inspirational Videos

Check out these videos that added to my inspiration to adopt the “Zero Waste Lifestyle.”

Trashed

My husband and I went to see a documentary by Jeremy Irons called Trashed. It was of course, a depressing tale of how plastics are filling landfills and oceans and their byproducts are seeping into our air and water. This movie was the major impetuous for me to reduce the amount of new plastic items I purchase.

 

The Story of Stuff

After we saw Trashed, my husband showed me The Story of Stuff. A shorter and more upbeat, but still upsetting, video – it is just over 20 minutes and takes us on a journey through the life cycle of some common “stuff” in our lives. The Story of Stuff website has tons of videos about waste and an overall solution oriented vibe that invites us all to make a positive difference!

Exploring Alternatives

Personally, I got my final kick of inspiration from watching Woman Shares Her Zero Waste Lifestyle Experience. Seeing Mailyne’s life, and some of her habits, really inspired me in a more tangible way then the two videos above, although the facts of plastic waste are of course the main reason I want to do this. My favorite is that Mailyne is a mom and an artist!

That’s my inspiration for zero waste! I have just started this month and am excited about how my lifestyle will change. I am already feeling creative juices flowing as I try to think of ways to minimize my food waste and make natural household products.

For some super creative and visual inspiration, check out my “Zero Waste Home” board on Pinterest.

Have ideas you want to share? Questions? I’d love to hear it all!


Leave a comment